Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is the South County Economic Development Council?   


The South County Economic Development Council (South County EDC or SCEDC), a non-profit organization was formed in 1989 by a group of South San Diego County business and community leaders, to promote education and encourage economic development in the South San Diego County Region.  Our member cities include Chula Vista, Coronado, Imperial Beach, National City, San Diego, San Diego County, and the Port of San Diego. We also  work with our partners in the northern portion of Baja California in the cities of Mexicali, Tijuana, Tecate, Rosarito and Ensenada.


Where is South County San Diego?                                                                                                                                                                  

The region is comprised of 5 cities in the Southern part of San Diego County, an unincorporated part of the County and the Southern part of the San Diego Bay.  The area stretches down into Mexico, includes the border districts of Otay Mesa and San Ysidro, covers the expanse from Coronado to the Otay mountains and from National City south to the International Border into northern Baja California. The terrain varies from sandy beaches to large-ship maritime ports, from inner cities to upscale residential suburbs, and quaint business districts to high-tech business parks.



What sets South San Diego County Apart?


San Diego County's unassuming southern region has been quietly evolving into an international trading hub, providing economic strength and diversification to San Diego, while offering the County's last opportunities for  large-scale business expansions. The business-friendly governments of South County, blossoming infrastructure and young, competent work force are all coming together to create the ingredients for vibrant business growth in San Diego South County.



780 Bay Blvd Suite 204, Chula Vista, CA 91910

Phone Number:  (619) 424-5143     

Fax Number: (619) 424-5738

eMail Address:

SCEDC is funded in part by grants from the cities of Chula Vista, Coronado, Imperial Beach, National City, San Diego, County of San Diego and Port of San Diego

(c)2019, Designed by SCEDC

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Basic Square
  • YouTube Classic